Nepal Location



Nepal is a landlocked nation in South Asia, bordering the People's Republic of China (Tibet) to the north and India to the south, east and west. Kathmandu is the capital of Nepal. Two other cities are located very next to Kathmandu, they are Patan (also known as Lalitpur) and Bhaktapur City.

Currently over 26 million people of different races and tribes, living in different regions, wearing different costumes and speaking different languages occupy a total of 147,181 square kilometer (885 km east to west, and 193 km north to south) of this tiny country.

There are other 72 different spoken languages in Nepal. Most people living in the city areas can understand and speak English. Nepali, written in the Devanagari script, is the official language of Nepal. English and Hindi are widely understood in the urban centers.